College of Community Science

Community Science (earlier known as Home Science) is a field of study with its mission to empower the individual, family and community for effective role performance and management of resources to improve the quality of life. Home Science primarily emerged out of the felt need for a comprehensive type of training for girls in the context of changes in the socio-economic environment as well as changes in the family system and functions. However, it has come a long way, and now fulfills the current and future need of scientific and technical education for both girls and boys. Home Science education is a systematic education for organized home living which includes the ever changing technological advancement and behavioural modification of the members living in the home and influencing the community. It acts as an effective catalyst for social change in the Indian society and is a perfect fit for creative people who have the capability to use their skills in a logical and practical manner, while bringing various visions to life. 

The idea of establishing a Home Science College under A.A.U was conceived immediately after the university was founded on April 1, 1969. Late Mrs. Pramila Pandit Baruah, wife of then Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Satya Ranjan Barooah took the initiative to establish the Home Science College under A.A.U. Subsequently, under the guidance of Late Dr. G.V. Subaima, the college of Home Science as third full-fledged college of A.A.U came into existence on 8 th August 1973 with 25 students on roll. Dr. Subaima worked as an adviser from June 1973 to July 1976 and as Dean of College of Home Science from September 1976 to September 1977. Her leadership and able guidance helped this budding institute take a desirable shape and develop into a full-fledged Home Science college, at par with other leading Home Science Colleges in the country.

The college has five departments, namely, Food Science and Nutrition, Textiles and Apparel Designing, Human Development and Family Studies, Family Resource Management and, Extension and Communication Management. These departments have made significant
development through the major mandate of State Agricultural Universities, i.e. Teaching, Research and Extension. The College is offering B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. programmes in all the disciplines with an intake capacity of 45, 35 (seven in each dept.) and 20 (four in each dept.) respectively.

The present faculty strength of this college is 37, out of which 21 are Professors and 16 are Assistant Professors. Twenty eight faculty members have enriched themselves with Ph.D. degree and some of them have also received recognition at national and international levels for their achievements. Participation of faculty members in different trainings, short courses, summer institutes, workshops, seminars/conferences (both at national and international level) has also contributed towards improvement of faculty competence. This institution has so far produced 1032 graduates and 380 post-graduates (348 M.Sc. & 32 Ph.D.). The students have shown brilliant academic records to deserve gold medals and other awards and scholarships instituted by the university and other government agencies. Many alumni of this institute are holding responsible positions in different public and private sector organisations across the country and abroad.