Reservation of Seats
Undergraduate Degree Programme

The University makes provision for reservation of seats for eligible candidates belonging to the following categories. Candidates are to note that self-certified copies of certificates mentioned against each of the categories must be submitted along with the Confirmation Sheet at the time of counseling.

(a) Scheduled Caste specified in relation to the State of Assam under Article 341 of the Constitution of India (Certificate from the competent authority countersigned by DC/ADC)
(b) Scheduled Tribes (Plains and Hills) specified in relation to the State of Assam under Article 342 of the Constitution of India (Certificate from the competent authority countersigned by DC/ADC)
(c) Other Backward Classes/ More Other Backward Classes specified in relation to the State of Assam which include one seat each for Tea Garden Labourer (TGL) in the Faculty of Agriculture and Faculty of Veterinary Science (Certificate from the competent authority countersigned by DC/ADC)
(d) Candidates who are children of regular AAU employees, retired/deceased University employees (Certificate from the Registrar, AAU)
(e) Candidates who are victim or children, brother, sister of martyrs of Assam Agitation (Certificate from the Govt. of Assam)
(f) Candidates representing the State of Assam in any of the games and sports of the Olympic disciplines or cricket conducted by National Sports Federation recognized by the Sports Authority of India/Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India (Certificate from the Director, Directorate of Sports, Govt. of Assam)
(g) Candidates who are children of defense personnel, paramilitary force personnel, ex-serviceman and serving armed forces personnel (Certificate from commanding officer/competent authority). The defense personnel should be working in Assam for last 1 year or more.
(h) Candidates from outside the State of Assam based on Entrance test at the behest of ICAR or VCI.
(i) Candidates from foreign countries and NRI and NRI-sponsored candidates
(j) Candidates belonging to the States (other than Assam) covered under the North Eastern Council (NEC). The candidates are to be nominated/sponsored by the respective State Government with a pro-rata contribution @ Rs. 2.00 lakh per student.
(k) 3 seats shall be reserved for candidates belonging to States/Union Territories other than Assam for specializing in Tea Husbandry & Technology in the B.Sc. (Hons) Agri degree programme. Such candidates are to be sponsored by the tea growing States/Union Territories of India and have to take admission at higher fee rates (sponsorship certificate from the Director/Secretary, Agriculture or Education of the concerned State Government/Union Territories).
(l) 2 seats shall be reserved for son/daughter of Small Tea Growers of Assam to pursue B.Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture with specialization in Tea Husbandry & Technology (Growers are to be registered with the Tea Board of India and Certificate to this effect is to be furnished at the time of counseling).
(m) Son/daughter/ grand-son/grand-daughter of freedom fighter (Certificate from the Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister certifying the freedom fighter and from Deputy Commissioner certifying direct relationship of the applicant with the freedom fighter) (n) Candidates working as VLEW (Village Level Extension Worker), VFA (Veterinary Field Assistant), F.D. (Fishery Demonstrator) & Seri Demonstrator (sponsored by the Govt. of Assam)
(o) Persons with Disabilities as per provisions of Section 39 under 'The persons with disabilities (Equal opportunities, protection of right and full participation) Act, 1995'
(p) Wards of Kashmiri migrants (Certificate from the competent authority)
(q) Candidates belonging to ‘Rest of India’ (from States other than NE states) in under-graduate degree programmes of Horticulture and Sericulture
(r) 30 Seats in B.Sc. (Hons) Agriculture programme are reserved for the students of NE Region against Higher Fee Category.

Post-Graduate Degree Programme

(a) Reservation under different categories shall be considered as per current rules and regulations of the Government as applicable. Statutory reservation viz. OBC/ MOBC, SC, STP, STH will be prepared on the basis of total seats under PG programmes separately for each Faculty.
(b) 25% of total seats in a Faculty shall be reserved for the candidates sponsored by the ICAR.
(c) 1 seat in each of the Department is reserved for in-service candidates sponsored/deputed by the University or other Agencies (ICAR/Government/Board).
(d) 3% of seats in a Faculty shall be reserved for Differently Able Persons as per 'The Persons with Disabilities (Equal Opportunities, Protection of Rights and Full Participation) Act, 1995'.